Let’s Explore…Colors!

10517122_256915184516970_556328933_nLet’s Explore…Colors!

(Summer 2014)

Place: Fayetteville Free Library

Dates: Monday, 7/7 from 10 to 10:30

“Let’s Explore…” is a new series I am offering this summer for babies. Our first session was “Let’s Explore…Colors!” The basic program structure is to sing hello, share some books, say some rhymes and then move to the play stations around the room to reinforce the concepts we are learning. I tell the parents that they are encouraged to explore each station and can stay for as long as their baby their interested.

Sing: Hello Song

Hello, Hello, Hello and how are you?
I’m fine, I’m fine and I hope that you are too.

Hello, Mr/Miss __________, Hello and how are you?
He’s/She’s fine, He’s/She’s fine and I hope that you are too.

Hello, Everybody, Hello and how are you?
We’re fine, we’re fine and we hope that you are too.

Flannelboard: Brown Bear
Brown Bear, Brown Bear,
What do you see?

I see a cute baby looking at me!

Read: Baby’s Colors by Karen Katz

Then I told parents that you are encouraged to explore each station and can stay for as long as your baby is interested. If you skip an activity or only make it to one or two, that’s ok! Since we are focusing on color today, try to reinforce that concept with your words. If your baby picks up a red apple, tell her what it is to help her build vocabulary. You are your baby’s best teacher.

Play Stations included: (See picture below)
1. Colored water bottles
2. Colored sorting bags
3. Smartplay food in coordinating bins
4. Books on colors
5. Colored soft dice
6. Colored Duplo blocks

Rhyme: Color Quiz (I did this one during free play and asked everyone to “find something blue, then touch your shoe” then waited five minutes, and “find something yellow” etc)
If you see blue, touch your shoe.
If you see yellow, shake like jello.
If you see green, bow to the queen.
If you see red, touch your head.
If you see pink, smile and wink.
If you see black, pat your back.
If you see brown, sit on the ground!

Around the half an hour mark, attention was starting to waver and I told the parents that I was going to wrap up. I always welcome parents and children to stay for as long as they’d like, after we sing goodbye (and they often stay another 1o or 15 minutes to socialize with other parents).

Rhyme: Thank you
Our hands say thank you with a clap, clap, clap.
Our feet say thank you with a tap, tap, tap.
Clap, clap, clap, tap, tap, tap.
We roll our hand
And say goodbye!

Sing: Goodbye
Oh, it’s time to say good-bye to our friends
Oh, it’s time to say good-bye to our friends
Oh, it’s time to say good-bye, make a smile and wink an eye
Oh, it’s time to say good-bye to our friends

_____________________

Optional Rhymes

I LOVE RED (Tune: “Three Blind Mice”)
I love red, I love red.
That’s what I said, that’s what I said.
Firetrucks, wagons and strawberries piled high.
Stop signs, hearts and pizza pies.
Roses, tomatoes and apples, oh my.
I love red.
That’s what I said.

WE LOVE BLUE
Tune: “Three Blind Mice”
We love blue. We love blue.
Yes, we do. Yes, we do.
We love the ocean and sky so blue.
We love blue ribbons and blue jeans, too.
We love blueberries, so good for you.
We love blue, yes we do.

THERE’S A COLOR WE ALL KNOW
Tune: “OLD MAC DONALD HAD A FARM”
There’s a color we all know,
G-R-E-E-N.
It’s the color that means “Go!”
G-R-E-E-N.
Oh, grass is green and lettuce is green,
Leaves and spinach and peas are green.
There’s a color we all know,
G-R-E-E-N.

BRIGHT YELLOW SUN
Tune: “Row, Row, Row Your Boat”
Bright sun shining down,
Shining on the ground.
What a lovely face you have,
Yellow, big and round.

10517148_256915271183628_1860658504_n

 

